The Hunt for Read October

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers. It would be terrible if we just skipped from September to November, wouldn’t it? Look at these maple branches. Don’t they give you a thrill–several thrills?”  Anne Shirley

 

Hey gang, we’ve slipped into October sometime in the middle of this week, haven’t we? It’s true. In the part of the world where MBM has it’s editorial offices, we have had a long lovely stretch of warm, sunny, foliage-flattering weather, and although I’m usually wishing I was napping with Green Day most Septembers I have to say this one was as painless a one as I can remember.

A peek out the window of the old lighthouse, which currently houses the editorial offices of MBM for tax purposes, reveals a much more blustery day today. I think maybe when people (and by “people” I mean me) think of October, they (and by “they” I mean I) may in fact be thinking of September weather. I think we can all agree that November is shit, and that December somehow redeems itself because of all the potential Christmas baking and generally loveliness that goes along with the season of the LORD. From there it’s about 4 months of staring out the window until the thaw, but let’s not dwell on that yet. Let’s just focus on October.

I think I like the idea of autumn generally (and October specifically) more than I actually enjoy the season/month in real life. This is okay. We only have to suffer through four weeks of the actual month, but we can escape into the mood comfort of this bittersweet month every time we read someone’s take on it.

So with that in mind, here’s just a few small selections of writing about this season/month that might warm your hearts, or perhaps make you look out the window wistfully at the rain, or maybe a slight smile might come across your face, or maybe it might conjure your own fall memories, happy or sad (or that beguiling mix of happy/sad that gets called melancholy by some).

Or maybe they won’t do any of those things to you. Maybe you’ll read these quotations, and say, “huh” and go back to your daily routine. By in any case, this post comes in October and satisfies my court-ordered requirement to write at least one of these a month. Take comfort, everything is temporary.

“First of all, it was October, a rare month for boys. Not that all months aren’t rare. But there be bad and good, as the pirates say. Take September, a bad month: school begins. Consider August, a good month, school hasn’t begun yet. July, well, July’s really fine: there’s no chance in the world for school.” – Ray Bradbury, Something Wicked This Way Comes

“October, baptize me with leaves! Swaddle me in corduroy and nurse me with split pea soup. October, tuck tiny candy bars in my pockets and carve my smile into a thousand pumpkins. O autumn! O teakettle! O grace!”
― Rainbow Rowell,  Attachments

“It was England in the autumn. The sun was, by definition, something that only happened when it wasn’t cloudy or raining.” – Neil Gaiman

“He had never liked October. Ever since he had first lay in the autumn leaves before his grandmother’s house many years ago and heard the wind and saw the empty trees. It had made him cry, without a reason. And a little of that sadness returned each year to him. It always went away with Spring.
But, it was a little different tonight. There was a feeling of autumn coming to last a million years. There would be no spring.”  – Ray Bradbury, The October Game

“October had tremendous possibility. The summer’s oppressive heat was a distant memory, and the golden leaves promised a world full of beautiful adventures. They made me believe in miracles.” – Sarah Guillory, Reclaimed
“October is nature’s funeral month.  Nature glories in death more than in life.  The month of departure
is more beautiful than the month of coming – October than May.  Every green thin loves to
die in bright colors.” – Henry Ward Beecher
“Rain comes after thunder, winter comes after fall. Sometimes I feel like I’m not after anything at all.” – Pippin
“Bittersweet October.  The mellow, messy, leaf-kicking, perfect pause
between the opposing miseries of summer and winter.” – Carol Bishop Hipps<!–, “October,” In a Southern Garden, 1995; CTO–>
l(ale
af
fa
ll
s)
one
li
ness-  e.e. cummings

“The falling leaves drift by the window
The autumn leaves of red and gold
I see your lips, the summer kisses
The sun-burned hands I used to holdSince you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall.”
–  Autumn Leaves, Lyrics by Johnny Mercer and Jacques Prévert

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under blogposts

2 responses to “The Hunt for Read October

  1. Great quotes, nice one starting with your girl Anne.
    Didn’t U2 have something to say about October?

Leave a Reply

