Place Holder

“If I can’t show it and you can’t see me, What’s the point of doing anything?”

St. Vincent

Hey gang! Miss me?

Looking over past posts, I noticed that since I started this silly little blog back in Feb 2011, not one month has gone by without hearing from me at least once (August 2012) or in some cases 10 times (December 2012), but for the most part could you pretty much count on a post a week from me, give or take.

So it came to a bit of a surprise to me when I realized that we just marked the summer solstice and I hadn’t posted anything in quite a while. May 7th to be precise, but who really notices? As The Cranberries once asked, “Does Anyone Care?” Do they? Do you? Do I?

I wrote that May 7th post ( it was the one about me turning 40 and my daughter turning 5 so you don’t need to go back and check) without really thinking at the time that it would be my last post, but then after I wrote it and sat back a bit I thought to myself, “Hmmm. If I’m going to step away from this blog business, then this seems as natural a place as any to call it quits. It just sort of seems like a good place to stop”. It’s like we all came to a clearing in the forest, or we found the end of the yellow brick road, or something.

And so with about the same about of warning as Forrest Gump gave when he stopped running, I just stopped posting. It helped that shortly after “My Last Post”, things seemed to get really busy at work and in the ol’ personal life and any time that I would normally have to devote to writing seemed to evaporate. Ironically, the more stuff that was happening that might be “blog worthy” in my life, the less time I had to write about it. (Is that actually irony? I’ve never really understood irony, and I’ve had many a pendant comment to me after I’ve begun a sentence with, “Isn’t it ironic that…” that, in fact, it was NOT irony. So I think I do have a sense of what isn’t irony, but maybe I don’t. I DO know that the word ironical is not a word, so points for that?)

A week went by, then two. I tried writing the odd thing, but nothing good came of it. It was as if I turned on the ol’ tap and nothing but brown, smelly water came out. Granted, a lot of the stuff that was coming out of the creative faucet wasn’t exactly from the village of Evian, was it? But at least it made me chuckle, or it gave me a chance to vent, or remember someone or something that was important to me, and if it seemed good or funny or necessary to write, then maybe, just maybe you would think so too.

I could come up with a few reasons as to why I stopped, but I’m sure I wouldn’t hit on all of them or even the best of them, so why speculate? I contemplated writing one of those, “All good things must come to an end” kind of posts, thanking the people who’ve stuck by the blog over these past 3+ years and all that, but the truth was I wasn’t exactly sure it was over.

I’m still not.

So that’s why this post isn’t a “All good things must come to an end” kind of post. (Another reason is that I think it’s a bit presumptuous of me to think that this blog is a good thing to begin with. Right? I mean I DO enjoy writing it and I’ve gleaned from many of your kind comments that you enjoy reading it, so there’s that at least. I suppose the alternative is that I could just send really long rambly emails to each of you personally when I get the urge, but that would be weird, right?)

So let’s think of this post as a just a place holder, because I’m a bit vain and would hate to lose a month in the archives just because I couldn’t seem to decide what to do.

2 Comments

Filed under blogposts

2 responses to “Place Holder

  1. Sheila

    I DID miss you! I hope you pop back on here from time to time when the mood strikes…

  2. Hello MBM! Whatever you decide, thanks for writing! You’re awesome! Shout outs!

Leave a Reply

