“How do you like my new arrangement?”

Hey everyone,

Just a quick note on the new layout. I thought we’d start the new year off with a new look. The only problem is that I am completely self taught at this “blog business” and I don’t really know what I’m doing. You might think I am exaggerating, but to give you an example, I spent a crazy amount of time looking for an “email subscribe” button on a fairly straightforward website yesterday and I eventually gave up and had to have a friend email me the direct link. And I am supposedly “computer literate” right? I mean this whole “librarian business” comes with a certain amount of assumptions about a person’s information literacy skills, and those assumptions would be wrong in my case.

It’s true that I sit on a number of “social media” and “computer type” committees through my work, but I don’t have a clue what’s going on most of the time. I am fairly comfortable using my iPod to play music and podcasts, but beyond that its a real adventure.

So anyway, I picked this nice theme with which to kick off the year, and I liked it. (Careful readers may remember that it was around for only one post: “Three Questions”.) It even had a nice “mountain themed” picture as it’s header. I didn’t even have to go look for one, so that was nice. I liked everything about the look of the site except that it didn’t have any of the extras on the side. You couldn’t see the popular popular hashtags, you couldn’t see my twitter stream, and you couldn’t go back and look up old blog posts by month.

The first two are fun but not essential, but I really missed the ability to go back and find old posts easily. I don’t know. Call it vanity, but its kind of nice to go back and see what I was talking about last month, or last year, or even longer. It also helps to keep me from telling the same story twice (embarrassing!), which I don’t think I actually have done yet, but it wouldn’t be the end of the world if I did right? Sometimes I hear the same story told over and over again among my friends, and I actually never really mind hearing it more than once. You never really ever get the exact same version, and if you’re hearing the story with someone who hasn’t heard it before, you get to see their reaction. But having said this, it IS nice to have the ability to go back. Also, you want to choose a theme where your hyperlinks are clear. I realize if I was knowledgable I could just “go in there” and customize the link colour, but its just easier for me to choose a theme that works.

So after posting my “Anne of Green Gables” blog post this morning, I thought I should change the appearance. After only one post, this is the blogging equilavent of pulling your pitcher in the first inning, but sometimes you have to make the tough decisions. And so I La Russed this new theme out of the over 300 available for your reading and viewing pleasure. I hope you like it. I think I do. You can get the hashtags and twitter on the side, and you can also access the old ones under the accurately named drop down menu titled “Old Ones”.

So I guess that’s it for me now. I like the look of this new theme. It’s not the best thing ever, but it will do. It seems to have a good arm and doesn’t seem rattled by the crowd noise. It should eat up some innings and I can sit back and concentrate on keeping the rest of the team from giving each other “hot feet“.

Later, dudes.

4 Comments

Filed under blogposts

4 responses to ““How do you like my new arrangement?”

  1. Well, I don’t think this hot foot business sounds very safe. 🔥👟

  2. Joanna Veroukis

    Have your heard the story of when I met U2? I’ll have to share it next time I see you!

Leave a Reply

