Tom’s Letter

Last week I wrote about a recent time when a high school student shadowed me for the day.

Today, I received this letter in the mail from “Tom”, and I’d like to share it with you.

February 19, 2013
Dear Trevor,
I would like to thank you for letting me job shadow you on _____. The experience has helped me solidify my resolve to follow the same career path as you and for that I am very thankful.
I found the day very enjoyable on account of the nature of the job, but also because of the warm and welcoming atmosphere I found there. I would like to thank you for helping provide that feeling of acceptance and would like to also extend my thanks to all the staff that showed me the same kindness throughout the day.
Strangely enough I think my favorite part of that day were the small jobs you gave me. Helping me withdraw books, looking for holds, and sorting through books, all these tasks were enjoyable in their own simple way and I am glad that you gave me the opportunity.
I would like to thank you once more and ask that you pass on my thanks to the rest of the staff for me.
Sincerely (signed)
Tom
p.s. I also appreciated your honest heartfelt advice about “keeping the balance” and getting out there and living life. You’ve given me a lot to think about.

Well, well. That kid’s going to be okay, I think.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogposts

Leave a Reply

