A Crack in Everything

“There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.” Leonard Cohen.

We have this lamp in our living room that my wife hates.

It looks like this:

I think she doesn’t like it because it’s supposed to be a tri-light and every time she goes to put it on a higher setting, it seems to be burned out. Also, I don’t think she likes how it’s on this little swivel arm. “It’s ugly and useless”. And the shade is cracked and broken. If we’re sitting on the couch at night, one of us will probably be reading and the other one will be knitting or crocheting, and both work better with light, so it’s always a bit contentious as to where the lamp goes or where one sits.

Why don’t we just get a new/another lamp? I hear you ask.

It’s a bit more complicated than that. I have a bit of a sentimental attachment to this lamp. It used to be in my grandma’s house and I remember sitting out on her veranda as a kid reading under it. After my grandma passed away, my Mom got the lamp, and when we moved into this house, it came with me. I didn’t realize until recently that my wife had such a dislike of it. I’m not against getting a new lamp, a tri-light that works, a non-swivel pole and of course an uncracked lampshade, but could we maybe just keep this one around, maybe for that mythical glorious time in the future when we have a finished basement?

A solution seemed to present itself to us last week. Ever since my Mom turned 70, she tells everyone she’s in “downsizing mode”. She’s trying to declutter her home of unneeded items (unless those items are creepy folk art knickknacks, ha!) I picture her home having less and less in it until one day I go over there and it’s just 4 bare walls and a cot. She mentioned to us that she had a floor lamp that she no longer needed. Would we like it to replace grandma’s old lamp?

My wife jumped at the suggestion, thinking that this would be a great way to modernize our living room light situation without spending cash on a new lamp. On Friday, my Mom came by with the lamp, and to my wife’s chagrin this is how it looked:

The new lamp!

As you can see, it is virtually the same lamp! It has one of those annoying (according to my wife) swivel arms, and even I can admit that having two of these lamps on either side of the couch may be a bit much.

Well at least couch sitters can now read or knit/crochet with confidence no matter which side of the couch they’re on! (A wonderful improvement for knitknight!)

And does the tri-light work?

No, no it doesn’t.

Oh, and the lamp shade is cracked too!

If our lamps were droids…

4 Comments

Filed under blogposts

4 responses to “A Crack in Everything

  1. Hysterical! Can’t wait to try it out!

  2. Marla73

    It is only fun until someone loses as eye or lamp or two in this case. Isn’t that how the saying goes?

Leave a Reply

