Yo! Yo! Yo! How ’bout some ‘gurt?

I’d hate to become one of those people who is obsessed with their health and well being. No one wants to listen to a person’s health concerns, unless they’re being paid as a health-care professional, and even then I bet most doctors and nurses are thinking ahead to what they’re going to have for lunch or what they’re going to be doing on the weekend while still projecting the appearance of compassion.

Having said this, I’ve been having some vague stomach problems the last couple of months. My wife is tired of hearing about my complaint as I’ve come to refer to it. She’s the type of sensible person who everyone hates who will actually go to the doctor when she’s not feeling well. She usually gets treated and feels better soon. She doesn’t understand people like me who put off going to see the doctor. My argument just doesn’t hold any weight with her. I feel that unless I’m so sick that I cannot function, why bother with making an appointment, take time off work, get over to the doctor’s office on the other side of town, only to be told there’s nothing wrong with you? I believe its my civic duty to NOT go to the doctor unless absolutely necessary. I feel I’m doing my part to keep health care costs down by not taking up my doctor’s valuable time when he could be treating people who are actually sick. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger……..unless whatever it is actually weakens you to the point when you die from it anyway. So it goes.

While my wife and I were going through the long, drawn-out adoption process that ended happily after about 3 years of waiting with the arrival of our amazing little baby daughter, I was forced to see my doctor every year to get a medical form filled in. I usually made sure I timed the appointments so they coincided with my annual check up anyway. He always filled the forms in saying I was in perfect health, or at least in good enough health to be an adequate parent, I guess. He never charged me for these forms, and this was a bone of contention with my wife because even though we go to the same clinic, we have different doctors and hers always charged for filling in forms. I haven’t been to my doctor since our daughter was born, but now it looks like I may need to make another visit.

The last time I went to my doctor for anything other than my annual check up, it was for a bump on the bottom of my foot. I did some googling and was convinced I had a “plantar wart” that would require surgery to get off. The bump looked exactly like the photos I found online. I kept complaining about the “plantar” to my wife until she couldn’t take it anymore and forced me to make an appointment. My doctor took one look at it and said “It’s nothing. It should be gone within the week, and if it’s not, come back and see me”. Well, you could have knocked me down with a feather. I was nursing this damn bump for about a month, but lo and behold, less than a week later it was gone. You really shouldn’t trust what you read on the internet.

So the upshot of all this is that I have an appointment to see my doctor at the end of June. I could have gotten in earlier if I wanted to specifically address my complaint, but instead I made a general appointment for a regular check up. My hope is that the complaint has resolved itself by then, which brings me to the topic of this week’s blog post, 500 words in.

Since digestion seems to be a central part of my complaint, I thought that maybe if I try to eat a little healthier between now and June,  it might make a difference. So this is one small change: I’ve decided to eat yogurt every day and see what happens. I announced that for Lent was going to start eating yogurt, and a friend commented that I was actually giving up not eating yogurt for Lent, which I think is probably a better way of looking at it. I’ll try to keep a journal of my yogurt eating experiences and report back around Easter. Take that, complaint!

"Have you tried my yogurt?"

3 Comments

Filed under blogposts

3 responses to “Yo! Yo! Yo! How ’bout some ‘gurt?

  1. Carol

    Maybe you have a wheat sensitivity.
    A journal of yogurt consumption sounds facinating. Perhaps you should start a third blog dedicated to only that. 😉

  2. No mention here of the tour.

Leave a Reply

